Chicago Equestrian - News, Events, Contacts and Marketing Services

USHJA Zone 5 Awards 2017 Horsemen of the Year at the CP National Horse Show

Erin Keating (USHJA Managing Director of Sport Programs), award recipient Diane Carney, Marla Holt (USHJA Managing Director of Awards), Otis Brown accepting on behalf of Thom Brede, Don Stewart and Wilson Dennehy were on hand at the CP National Horse Show for the presentation to honor Zone 5 2017 Horsemen of the Year.

Lexington, KY - November 3, 2017 - The CP National Horse Show hosted the award ceremony for the Zone 5 Horsemen of the Year. Established in 2014, the annual Zone 5 Horseman of the Year Awards are presented to individuals, who through their dedication and contribution of time, knowledge, financial and other assistance, have added to the betterment of the sport.
The award has two categories: contemporary and posthumous. Those eligible to receive the honor include individuals, groups of horsemen, riders, owners, and breeders who are long-time residents of Zone 5.
The Zone 5 Hunter and Jumper Committees are pleased to announce Arthur "Thom" Brede as the Posthumous Award Winner and Diane Carney as the Contemporary Award winner of the 2017 Zone 5 Horseman of the Year Awards.
Thom Brede was an influential horseman who made an impact on our sport and beyond before he passed away in April this year.
Brede moved to Stamping Ground, Kentucky, in 2000 with his wife the late Anne “Wissie” Brede, relocating their Thoroughbred breeding operations, Audley End and Taterland Farms.
He served as a USEF judge for more than 50 years earning his “R” license in Hunter/Jumping Seat Equitation, Hunter and Hunter Breeding, and he judged hunters at many major horse shows in the United States and Canada.
Brede was known for his eye for talent and skill. Joe Dotoli recalled that Thom picked Peter Wylde on a borrowed horse out of many better-known riders at the time to win the Maclay in 1982. He was truly one of the greats in the judge’s box. 
Brede was also a member of the USHJA Hunter Breeding Task Force from 2002-2012, and he chaired/co-chaired the USEF Licensed Officials Committee from 1998-2012. He was inducted into the National Show Hunter Hall of Fame; he received the Pennsylvania Horse Shows Association’s Lifetime Achievement Award; and he was awarded the Daniel P. Lenehan Perpetual Trophy for his dedication and lifetime commitment to judging show hunters.
Brede was also known for his work with his family’s charitable foundation, The Taterland Foundation, established in 2014 to provide warm winter coats to families in need near Stamping Ground, Kentucky. Since then, the foundation has provided coats and holiday presents to more than 400 children and adults across eastern Kentucky and Appalachia as well as firewood, clothing and school supplies.
USEF CEO and former USHJA President Bill Moroney described Brede as a knowledgeable horseman who was dedicated to spending his time and energy ensuring that US Equestrian had a strong licensed official education and licensing program.
Keith Bartz, who co-chaired the Licensed Officials Committee with Brede, described him as caring, positive and forward thinking saying:
“His legacy should inspire others to do volunteer work when needed to benefit our entire equestrian community.”
This legacy is what we remember as we award Brede with the Zone 5 Horseman of the Year Award.
Thom’s daughter, Jessica, his sister, Marlene, and his entire family send their thanks to the Zone 5 Committee for this honor and also send their love to the men and women in the sport that brought Thom so much happiness.
Diane Carney is a lifelong, dedicated horsewoman, emphasizing horsemanship in every aspect of her world.  Her versatility and in-depth knowledge gives her a well-rounded perspective on the industry to which she has given her time, talent and financial contributions.
Diane finished a successful junior/amateur show career with Wilson Dennehy in Colorado and graduated from the University of Denver before moving to Chicago in 1984.

Her early professional years as an outstanding National and International rider and trainer included accolades with notable horses such as Total Touch, Texas Tea, Evening After, Trooping the Colors, North America, Charlebouis, Linky, Twist & Shout, and Dublin.

Her ability to train and coach clients at the national and international levels enabled her clients to win in divisions from the small ponies to the grand prix level, FEI and Spruce Meadows. Diane’s clients have won local and zone 5 championships, USEF Horse of the Year Championships and grand prix titles. 

Special honors include championships in the junior hunters at Capital Challenge, Harrisburg and Washington and the 2008 Chronicle Horse of the Year with the incredible horse, Lyle, thanks to the generosity of Don Stewart and the Rhinehart family. 

Diane has been dedicated to education in the Chicago area and Zone 5 for over 35 years, teaching numerous clinics of her own and hosting the George H. Morris Chicago Clinic for over 30 years.  Her campaign on improving education included assisting with USHJA affiliated clinics, EAP clinics and organizing the Chicago Gladstone Clinic.

Diane’s versatile career and experience as a USEF licensed official guided her to design the 2016 ASPCA Maclay Finals courses along with the honor of judging the prestigious event with Rachel Kennedy. Commentators and former Olympians George H. Morris and Anne Kursinski gave rave reviews on the course design and the ability to judge the class meticulously. Diane has also had the privilege of judging the $500,000 Hits Hunter Prix, the $100,000 International Hunter Derby in Thermal, the Winter Equestrian Festal, the New England Medal Finals, the 2016 USEF Pony Finals and other prestigious horse shows across the country.
Diane was in on the ground floor of the derby programs, which originated in Zone 5, supporting their start with both time and personal finances to insure their success. Her selfless financial contributions include the donation of the George H Morris trophy for the International Hunter Derby Finals and the National Show Hunter Hall of Fame ‘Derby of the Year’ trophy.

Diane and the late Mindy Darst created the Zone 5 Scholarship Fund, which has provided over $80,000 in scholarships since its inception. Along with Lynn Jayne, Diane also donated the trophy for the Hunterdon Cup – East Equitation Championship.

"I'm certain I couldn't receive an award like this without key horsemen contributing. Certainly Wilson Dennehy, George Morris, Mindy Darst, Don Stewart and Mason Phelps have all been exceptional professionals in my career and by their example, have enabled me to give back to the sport. I'm very grateful to the customers and horses I have been able to work with and I am flattered to receive this award," commented Carney. 

For more information on Zone 5 events and awards visit the USHJA website at